The First Snow Fall

There’s a common scene in movies were children wake up, look outside their window and see snow. They get joyful and excited looks on their faces, and they run off to go outside and play. That scenario has always kind of stuck with me. I have gone to the mountains where there is snow, but it has never been fresh snow; it was usually melted, or just chunks of very dirty snow. One of my very first questions when I arrived in Mannheim, Germany was if it snowed here. It does!

I was told that sometimes it did snow, so I was hoping that this winter would be one of those times. Time went on, and I soon found myself in December. December marked the end of classes, and the beginning of finals, as well as the beginning of farewells.

I wished the snow had fallen during Christmas, but I am glad it fell nonetheless.

It was a couple of days after Christmas, I woke up and I was feeling okay; not happy, but not sad either. However, the moment I opened my blinds, my window view was a sight to behold. I don’t know how to explain it, but the feeling I got waking up to see white, fresh snow falling right outside my window is one I know I won’t forget.

It was a bittersweet moment for me. It was sweet to see first snow fall, but it was an experience I was unable to share with my family members at that moment. I definitely took pictures and sent them to my family, but due to the time difference between Germany and the US, it wouldn’t be until hours later that I got a response.

Nonetheless, I got ready and went outside. I spent a couple of minutes right outside my building just looking at the snow fall. The sound of snow being crushed under my boot, and the feel of small flakes on my face and hands was just amazing. I went behind the student residence to the canal, and just took it all in. The moment was so surreal.

This snow experience was definitely a memorable and smooth one. The snow wasn’t deep, stores and restaurants didn’t close down because of the weather, and the coldness was bearable – around 30 degrees Fahrenheit. One of my friends went back to Canada for winter break, and I would see his snaps with inches of snow, and hear about how it was below 0 degrees. I would just think to myself no, no, no, no, no. That is not for me. I am happy with the small amount of snow in Mannheim. It’s easy to manage.

Even though I have already experienced snow, I still get a kick out of opening my blinds to see if there is snow on the ground or not. It always surprises when I wake up to find snow already on the ground; I plan to enjoy the snow to the fullest!


Sayra Flores is a junior studying business management with an emphasis in human resources. She is studying abroad at University of Mannheim, Germany. 

Comment on this post

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

