No Ordinary Trip to IKEA

If you take the train about 45 minutes from Växjö you will reach the town of Älmhult, home of the first IKEA. This past Sunday some friends and I decided to go for a visit.

The original building is now an IKEA museum filled with the different themes and trends in furniture since the store opened in 1943. Next door, a larger warehouse was constructed to house a modern IKEA store.

Since we decided to visit on a Sunday afternoon, my friends and I were unable to visit the museum but we did get the chance to eat and shop in one of the biggest IKEAs I’ve ever seen.

We started by getting food at the large restaurant upstairs. I wasn’t very hungry so I only got a cup of coffee, a chocolate ball, and a small salad; however they did have options for veggie meatballs and other veg friendly foods.

We then wandered around the store for a few hours. The IKEA wasn’t very different from any other IKEA (which is the point) but it was bigger than any other store I had been into.

I enjoyed walking around and getting inspired by all the cool room setups, as well as taking funny pictures of my friends posing in different rooms. When we were all done I walked away with a box of candles and some light bulbs for my room. I will definitely go back to see the museum at some point, though I don’t know exactly when.


Abbey Whitley is an English major at SDSU. She will be be studying at Linnæus University in Växjö Sweden for a full academic year.

Comment on this post

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

