I’m about nine weeks into my study abroad experience and it has been amazing. My classes have been great, I adore my roommates and interacting with other international students is enlightening. Meeting students from different countries has been truly amazing; learning about a different lifestyle and what they did growing up intrigues me. So, when I heard about Studifahrten my friends and I took the opportunity and went for it.

Studifahrten is a company that plan trips, arranges transportation, arranges hostels and sets a schedule. Any student can participate in the trip, regardless of where he or she is studying. In other words, I was able to go on a trip where I didn’t have to worry about booking in advance, I didn’t have to worry about transportation and I could meet other international students from different cities.

Two of my roommates, a friend and I decided to take the Prague trip because it was a long weekend due to a German holiday on Tuesday. While we waited for the bus to arrive in Mannhiem, we came across other Mannheim international students that decided on the same trip. Two of the other students were from the United States as well, but they both come from a university in Massachusetts. I enjoyed learning how different the East Coast is from the West Coast, why they decided to stay on the East Coast, why they chose Mannheim etc.

On the bus ride, I sat down next to Melanie, and she is an amazing person. I learned that she was raised in France, and is studying in the UK. I would have never guessed she was raised in France because she has a British accent. I knew Melanie from one of my classes at the university, and this trip was a great bonding experience.

I learned that she is a huge fan of “The Walking Dead” – a fact that blew me away. I found it amazing that she is into an American series, but also because out of all the cartoons, movies, series, etc, she likes a series that I like too! For the next 30 minutes to an hour, we talked about our favorite characters, who we didn’t like and theories on who was going to die in the upcoming season.

As the trip to Prague went on, we moved on to songs that she wanted to share with me. The songs varied from French to British, even German songs.

During the tour of Prague, we meet two other girls that are studying in Germany, but in a different city. We clicked immediately, and throughout the rest of the trip, we went to dinner and events together. Through these new friends, we all met others, and when we went to explore the city I was able to hear all the different stories that everyone had to tell.

My favorite part was dinner because all of us were able to sit down and have a group conversation. Anyone could pitch in and the conversation easily flowed from one story to another. I also liked that different people carried on the conversation, so I was able to get a good sense of who each individual was.

The trip to Prague was amazing. The city is beautiful, and the people were fantastic. But after a long bus ride to Prague, doing various activities throughout three days, and then another long ride back to Mannheim, I am glad to be back in my residential housing. It is good to be back in my own bed, and the surroundings I have come to enjoy.


Sayra Flores is a junior studying business management with an emphasis in human resources. She is studying abroad at University of Mannheim, Germany. 

Comment on this post

