Farewell, Finland!

My study abroad in Finland has concluded after four transformative weeks. As I begin the long and tedious journey back home, I compiled a short film in which snippets of my study abroad are shown.

Beginning with my journey through busy airports and ending with the contagious tranquility Finland’s ecosystem provides – along with side trips to Tallinn and Turku, a ballet performance and other amazing events – I hope to share with you a little of my study abroad experience. I also hope this inspires you to travel and know more about the world.

A month-long study abroad has been a sufficient amount of time for me to learn about Finland, experience its unique education system and culture, and overcome a multitude of personal and situational challenges. I recommend you seek out the right study abroad for you among the many options offered at SDSU.

Studying abroad has inspired me to continue on with my studies and dreams. It has forced me out of my comfort zone and made me more comfortable with who I am. It provided the opportunity to successfully coexist with and befriend people whom I differ from greatly and it has taught me to be aware and mindful of myself and my actions.

I enjoyed my time in Finland and have learned so much about the world, myself and the many in-betweens. But there truly is no place like home!


Arantxa Akerlundh is a kinesiology junior. She is studying at the University of Jyväskylä in Finland for four weeks this summer.

Comment on this post

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

