Hey everyone! I don’t have too much to report this week but wanted to keep you all updated with my life here in Stockholm!

This past weekend, seven of my close friends and I went on a short adventure to Helsinki, Finland, using the local cruise lines that run across the Baltic. It was the same type of trip that we took to Riga last month. This cruise ship, however, was much nicer than the first one we traveled with. There were lots of places to eat and go out on board, as well as see shows. The cabins were tiny but hey, it’s all part of the experience!

IMG_3675Once we arrived in Helsinki, we made it off the ship just in time to catch a free three-hour walking tour of the city. It was a beautiful day (about 35ºF and sunny) and the city was bustling with people. On the tour, we saw the old town where there were beautiful old cathedrals on every street. We also got to stop by the fish and tourist markets where there were outdoor stands for local produce, fish, as well as handmade clothing and goods. We ended the tour in the shopping district where there were a lot of restaurants and shops.

It would have been nice to spend another day in Helsinki to explore the city and go out at night, but we spent the 5 hours we well. After the tour, we grabbed a quick bite to eat before heading back to the ship. We just got back this morning (Sunday) and I plan to work on my homework… after updating all of you!

The past week I’ve been focusing a lot on school. Now that I have two classes at once, there is a lot more work to stay on top of. I have to read about 100 pages per day between the two classes and take copious notes to turn in and use for references within my papers. It has been a daunting task, but the material is very interesting, so I don’t mind it too much. I received some good news, too: I got an A on my first paper! This week, I have two more papers due—one for each class. They don’t have to be too long, but I am very particular about my writing, so they always take me a while to complete.

image2I am trying my best to get everything done by this Wednesday because my parents are arriving in Stockholm on Thursday. I am really excited to spend a few days with them and show them everything I’ve gotten to love about Sweden. Plus, they are brining me a few things I’ve been missing from home so it will be fun to see what I get! It’ll be like Christmas in March.

As soon as my parents leave, I will be heading out on a 20-day backpacking adventure with my friend Alexa. We both have considerable time off for our spring breaks and have decided to plan an extraordinary trip. I purchased a Eurail pass and we will be traveling by train from country to country and staying in hostels while we are in each city we visit. We will begin in Copenhagen, Denmark on March 28 and plan to head from there to Berlin, Germany.

DSCN0966I am excited to see the remnants of the Berlin Wall and visit the many museums and clubs the city has to offer. After that, we are going to head to Kraków, Poland. We plan to visit Auschwitz while we are there. Next, we are going to travel south to Budapest, Hungary. We will only spend one day there but hope to see as much as possible. After that, we are going to head to Vienna, Austria for two days.

We are both really excited to spend time there as we have heard such great things about this beautiful city. Last but not least, we are going to travel north to Nuremberg, Germany where we hope to learn more about the historical Nuremberg trials that took place there. To finish off, we will stop back in Copenhagen where we can catch a relatively cheap and short train back to the Stockholm central station.

I am beyond excited for this backpacking adventure to begin. This kind of travel is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I plan to make the most of every moment. I will, of course, keep you all posted on my travels and experiences.

Until then!

Comment on this post

