Adjusting to Life in Barcelona

Well, I know I definitely do not look like a local, but I also don’t feel like a newbie here anymore.

One month and four days have officially passed since I arrived in Barcelona and I must admit that it has been a difficult adjustment, but I have a daily routine now and I am loving the experience.

My first step to becoming a local was to begin grocery shopping and cooking my own meals at home. This helped me save money and made me feel like I was actually living here. My American roommate and I have been grocery shopping every week, so the employees remember us now and we run into people from school; I feel at home.

rubi 2Adjusting to school was also difficult because I had to learn everything from scratch. I had to learn about classroom locations that follow a pattern, I had to learn how to find books because the library does not carry them all and I had to learn simple terms that are in Catalan, which is very different from the Spanish language that I have known my whole life.

Catalan is a mixture of Spanish and French, so you can probably guess the difficulties I have understanding Spaniards sometimes.  At my school here there is no such thing as quizzes; our grade depends on one final test at the end of May, so there are no other ways to score points besides acing that final test. This is a frightening thought because I have to change my ways of studying now. Whatever I was doing back home probably will not work so well here.

The professors have been very clear in what they expect from me and although I am an international student, they will not make things easy fore me; I almost wish they did, but that just means I will have to work harder. It is an odd balance between trying to study and attempting to travel.

I am in Europe after all, so of course I have to see all that I can while I am here. I am lucky to have my American roommate here because we are both interested in traveling to the same places. My flights to Amsterdam, Paris, and Morocco are booked! Now I just need to book my flight to Italy, which will be the last country I visit.

Rubi parc Citudella 2I know this post is all over the place, but I just wanted to give you a glimpse at what my life has been like over my first month in Barcelona. Needless to say that I am enjoying my experience and although I was told to make close connections with Spaniards, I am having more fun meeting people from all over the world.

I live in the school apartments and there are a lot of international students living here. I have met some great people from different countries, even those tiny countries we never hear about in the US. I Iove the decision I made to come and live here because I have made so many friends and I have already visited many places with all the international students.

A family feel has developed here and I am grateful that the university offers such an amazing international program. Look out for my next blog post because Amsterdam pictures will be all over it!

Comment on this post

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

