Hey everyone! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while! It’s been hectic trying to figure out the pace of school over here, but I think I have a pretty good idea of how to handle things now.

I just submitted my first graded assignment for my biochemistry class today. Usually, I would stress about what my potential grade will be, but I refuse to let my mind spiral down that path. I refuse to worry, so instead, I am writing this to get my mind off it. Then, I’ll probably watch an episode of The Walking Dead to put the meaning of stress into perspective.

Other than that, I love my classes, especially my Origins of Agriculture class. It’s so fascinating and productive. With a group of just 12 people, it really forces us to have in-depth analyses of archaeological terminology and assumptions about agriculture and how that affects the way we understand the past. It’s wonderful.

In addition to finally adapting to my academic life, I have also made some really cool friends. Basically, life is starting to feel pretty normal and similar to what it’s like back home. Except, of course, for the fact that I visited Stonehenge and Bath yesterday! It was the most hilarious adventure, which is probably not a word you associate Stonehenge with. Let me explain.

My roommate Erna and I found out about this event through a student organization. We signed up, super excited. A week later, we found out that heavy rains were forecasted for Stonehenge the very day we were visiting. My roommate was especially bummed about this, but she figured it would be fine as long as she had her umbrella.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When we arrived at Stonehenge, it was not raining. It was hailing! And the wind was so strong that it literally pushed us away as we walked towards the site. Shards of ice were attacking our eyes every time we tried to sneak a glance at those stones. Stonehenge’s message was clear: It did not want us there. I tried to stay optimistic and take in the wonder of the archaeological site, but Erna was downright miserable. First, the ice and wind were especially vicious as they attacked her. Next, her audio tour guide broke. Then, the wind destroyed her umbrella. When her phone battery died (after being at 70% on the bus), she lost it. For some reason, her misfortune had me bursting with laughter.

I know I must sound horrible, but I couldn’t help myself. Erna’s luck was so bad, it was hilarious. Everything that could have gone wrong on this trip went wrong, especially for her. We didn’t even get to really see the damn thing! We were only a few feet in front of it, squinting and using our scarves to shield ourselves from the ice until finally, we just gave up and started walking to the indoor museum. At the very least, I think my amusement of the situation lightened the mood a bit.

After laughing for a good half hour at Erna’s distress, karma finally caught up to me, and I began feeling a major brain freeze from the bitter winds. It got so bad that I started to feel a headache coming on, so when we went into the gift shop, I decided to buy an overpriced sheep beanie. I actually adore it now. It reminds me of the cute sheep grazing around the Stonehenge. Ironically, the wool that the beanie is made of was knitted by women in Nepal, so it has nothing to do with the sheep at Stonehenge. Still, it reminds me of them and the beanie actually smells like sheep, in a good, comforting way.

After leaving Stonehenge, our group moved on to the city of Bath, which is gorgeous! The city is famous for its Roman baths, which Erna and I made sure to visit. This archaeological site was mostly indoors and it wasn’t hailing, so Erna and I had a good time. Strangely enough, Erna’s phone battery somehow jumped back up to 80% after it seemed depleted in Stonehenge. She actually said that the further away we got from Stonehenge, the more re-charged her phone battery became. In case that doesn’t sound strange enough, her umbrella magically repaired itself after leaving Stonehenge. This led Erna to dub Stonehenge as “the Bermuda triangle of the UK”. Having witnessed these circumstances myself, I have to agree.

Anyway, the Roman Baths museum was fascinating and the architecture in the Bath city centre is so beautiful and wonderfully old. It was a really cool place to visit, giving a perspective of Romans in Bath roughly 1,000 to 2,000 years ago. Of course, Bath has a more extensive history than just its Roman influence, but unfortunately Erna and I were so rushed on this “organized” trip that we could not explore much of the city. If there is anything we learned from this trip, it’s that we only got a taste of the history and culture of Bath and Stonehenge. We definitely plan on going back to learn more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before I leave, I need to mention that I tried fish and chips again for dinner. Once again, I did not like it. I think I’m just not that keen on fried fish. In terms of food over here, I’m not impressed. Cheese and onion sandwiches, for instance, should not be a thing. When it comes to chocolate, however, I am a happy woman. I recently had Cadbury chocolate Oreo bars. AMAZING! They made me so happy…my two favorite things, creamy chocolate and crunchy Oreo, combined in a most elegant fashion. I am officially a fan of Cadbury. My friends have also told me that I need to try Indian restaurants here in Leicester. Leicester is supposed to be famous for its Indian food, so I’ll make sure to keep you updated on upcoming foodie adventures!

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading 🙂

Take-away message: Sometimes everything goes wrong. Remember to laugh it off and you’ll have a good time. Oh, and Stonehenge hates Erna.

Comment on this post

