See You in 6 Months, San Diego!

Surreal. That’s basically how it feels right now at 32,998 feet in the air and with 4,181 miles to go. After months of planning and endless paperwork I am finally on my way to Madrid, Spain!

I have left so much behind, yet I can’t wait to find out what these next 6 months have in store for me.

A lot of people would tell me to not have any expectations about my semester abroad but I think they’re missing the point. The reason we go abroad is because of those adventure-filled stories we hear and read. The promise of culture, art, adventure and friendships packed into a semester abroad. I am no different; I truly hope this semester changes my perspective on the world and my life.

As I was considering studying abroad I came across many blogs that really captured the essence of what people that wrote them were experiencing right at that moment; whether it was excitement, culture shock, homesickness or pure joy. Now it’s time for me to write my own story. I hope my experiences will inspire you to go abroad!

If you’re reading this blog, you’re probably thinking of going abroad and all I can say is ‘just do it’! There will always be something standing in your way, whether it’s money or time–for me it was both. I had to decide between studying abroad and graduating a semester late or graduating on time and missing out on one of the best experiences college has to offer.

For me the decision was obvious, after all I have the rest of my life to work. Although everything is uncertain right now, one thing is for sure: I will be living in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Madrid, here I come!

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

